Dear Mom’s Recommendation..

We are big fans of writings of a great writer — Rev. Khuswant Singhji. ( i hate when we stop writing ji with names of great personalities).

My elder son enjoyed Singh’s works while in college. Younger son prefers Khushwantnama to his Chemistry lessons.

I do enjoy his all writings. I greatly admire his honesty! May he live long and healthy life!

Image

Yesterday my mom handed over Khushwantnama (The lessons of my life by Khuswant Singh) to me with a folded page and narrated to me the Punjabi translation of a paragraph from the same book…..can i reproduce it here?

“At school, i was hopeless at all subjects. And although i was very keen on sports, I wasn’t any good at games either. The only bright point was a comment from my English teacher in my report card. Miss Budden, who had come from England to teach in Modern School for two years, wrote that i had the possibility of making it as a writer. Even then, i was a good storyteller, the family jester, narrating events with a punchline in a way that none of my brothers could. The comment from Miss Budden more than amused my father, who had already decided that i was going to be lawyer because i was such a chatterbox.”

(from Chapter: What it takes to be a writer… in Khushwantnama).

My mom is a very good writer. She rightly trusts that writing is a good therapy and a great outlet. My maternal grandfather, a teacher by profession, was a ghost-writer – he never got into any limelight. My father was an outstanding letter writer (urdu and english)  — he used to write long, straight-from-heart type of letters with handwriting which i envy till date.

My elder son has been writing letters on various subjects –God bless him, he has trained himself to speak his mind to a piece of paper and i get so very charged by his writings. That’s personal!…….i often tell him that whenever i feel low, i just take out some of his letter written (to himself) to recharge myself!

PS….
Edited (one day later!)…. [ I have realised my mistake..in writing it is okay if i find uncomfortable to write names of ‘biggies’ without ‘ji’….but while talking at home we all refer to him as Khuswant Singh…so, that’s real me!]

About drparveenchopra

Dr Parveen Chopra is Masters in Dental Surgery.. with 35 years of experience in dentistry. For trying his hand in health writing, he studied Communication for seven years. He is a blogger since 2007- he enjoys writing in conversational style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

