Full Dentures Should be Worn Round-the-Clock

Facial profile with newly inserted Artificial Full Dentures

 

When a person gets full dentures there are quite a few questions in his mind for which he seeks to-the-point answers.

I work for a govt set-up in which there is no facility for artificial dentures. This gentleman had got all his teeth extracted at my clinic. Later on he has got his dentures made from some private dental practitioner.  He had come to me for seeking tips on its care. I think I must share those tips with my readers also.

 

His main question was whether these are required to be removed during night. When I asked him what his dentist has told him, he just avoided that question.

I told him that if there is no problem in wearing those full upper and lower dentures, then these must be worn continuously –day and night- for atleast initial 2-3 months. This is the period during which his mouth would get wedded to those dentures.

‘Wedding’ ? – I mean the tissues of his mouth are required to get used to the feel of artificial dentures. And generally it takes 2-3 months initially. I remember one of our senior professors telling his patients this thing –so I repeated my teacher’s words!

Now, he asked about their cleaning. I told him that these  are required to cleaned daily. He was  surprised as to on one hand I am telling him to wear the dentures 24X7 and on the other hand I was telling him to remove them and clean it daily.

 

Flaunting his Full Dentures

I told him that for cleaning he has to just take our those dentures in the morning and using a denture brush, he needs to brush his artificial set and reinsert it into his mouth.

I asked him to take out the dentures so that I could explain the procedure. He was reluctant saying he does not know how to re-insert them once taken out. I was bit surprised –but respected his wish. He would master this removal and insertion in just 2-3 days !

Some other things I want to share with readers about the care of artificial dentures – some other time!
His facial expression tells me that there is something wrong with his denture but I resisted myself from telling him because he is still learning to adapt to those artificial dentures and any negative feedback would affect this process of “marrying”!

About drparveenchopra

Dr Parveen Chopra is Masters in Dental Surgery.. with 35 years of experience in dentistry. For trying his hand in health writing, he studied Communication for seven years. He is a blogger since 2007- he enjoys writing in conversational style.
This entry was posted in Dental and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

